Montag, 7. Februar 2011

first days and impressions...

 First of all, since this blog is not only for my german people I will write it in English...
´
Saturday 5th of February 2011:
I am about to leave for the FRA airport by train from Fulda.... First thing I do is buying the wrong ticket... Ten bucks for nothing! Well, i finally get to Istanbul SAW and they charge me an extra 30 bucks for my baggage, since I can only take 15 kg on domestic flights... (by the way.. i have two seperate tickets... FRA-SAW, SAW-GZT... i need to go through customs, grab my luggage at the baggage claim, run to the check-in and go through security again) Nobody cares about, that I AM coming from an international flight. So, I am about to miss my flight, since I only got 40 more minutes to get to the airplane. Emotional breakdown at that moment... However, I made it to Gaziantep!!!! Murat is picking me up from the airport, we get along very well. We are going straight to an AIESEC party, where I meet all the other guys. By the way, I am the second intern to arrive in Antep (short for Gaziantep). Youssef from Marocco got there like 1 or 2 days before me. So, I get there: weeeeird... all the guys smiling, saying Hi and staring at me LOL... however, these guys are awesome. They did welcome me with open arms! That night I am staying with Murat and Youssef, until I can move to Öznur´s place on Sunday.


Sunday 6th of February 2011:
We have breakfast at a Café all together after a funny long night with some Efes (Nefes alma, Efes al!). Ooh, Efes çok seviyorum! :-)
Then I move to Öznur´s place and we leave to play soccer. I got to know, that Antep is a famous pistacchio (however you spell this) producing city and that its also famous for their kebab! Yumm...
Later that day we were watching a soccer game Galatasaray vs... I forgot. These guys are craaazy in love with Galatasaray by the way! Everything is about Galatasaray... :-)
Then 3 more interns arrive. Two girls from Japan and one guy from the Ukraine.


Monday 7th of February 2011:
Get up waaay too early, have breakfast and leave for school. We will have to present our country and its culture and traditions at a HighSchool several times in different classes. Also, we will have to attend English classes and „teach“ along with the teacher... I will tell you about this later, since I don´t really have any idea how this is going to look like at the end... Surprise, surprise...
We go shopping at the grand bazar and go eat kebab and lahmacun. Yumm... Turkish food is really delicious! Well... And now I am laying on my bed, struggling with this bad internet connection and writing this blog. I am actually not good at this, since I have never really done this before. Well, we will see how this is going to develope during the next 2 months.

RESUME:
Gaziantep seems to be pretty conservative. More than the other parts in Turkey I have been to. It is kind of grey and could need some color. The weather is sunny, which is wonderful, but it is as cold as in Germany.
However: ENOUGH with this negative stuff! I found what I expected! People are really nice and hospitable! Kind of having a hard time dealing with all the traffic, trying to get not run over by a dolmuş or any other vehicle... But: I may not love it, but this is part of the whole thing that makes this country so exciting! LOL We were walking around with the two girls from Japan, and it is there first time in Turkey. The whole time you could hear: oooh, wooow... aaah... awesome!! LOL they are so excited to be here... its cute... This makes me feel kind of weird, because nothing really seems to be totally NEW for me now, since I have just travelled through Turkey for a month in the summer. One awesome thing is: I speak soooo much Turkish. My flatmate´s English is not the best and some other guys prefer to talk Turkish, so I have the oportunity to talk all the time. And it is wonderful! I feel like I have learned soo much during these two days! Sometimes it can be kind of frustrating, but that is what makes it challenging. If it is easy, I wouldn´t be learning the language properly anyway... Yeah... What else?? I would say I am in this „high“ right now, where everything is nice and wonderful :-) One thing is kind of annoying me though, but I can totally understand the AIESEC people´s opinion: I am so not independent. I am not allowed to walk around outside when it gets dark (not even 50 m)... I am never alone. But, I will hope this is gonna change a little soon. I want to feel a little more independent. And I do understand their point, because they are kind of responsible for the interns and this project is very important to them. We will see. I am very optimistic, that this is going to be an awesome experience and I don´t even want to think about that I will have to leave soon! (LOL... I am here for two days out of 8 weeks!!) I think strong friendship bonds will be made here during this time. Its awesome! HARIKA!
TÜRKIYE SEVIYORUM VE TÜRK HALKI ÇOK GÜZEL!
Şerefe!!
Jale

P.s. Thats my new (turkish) name, since Juliane is not really easy to pronounce and remember... And Lale means Tulip! i guess though... somebody told me :-)



Keine Kommentare:

Kommentar veröffentlichen